Word by the president

The objective of the association “Les Amis de la Musique du Bal Viennois” is to promote cultural exchanges between the cities of Vienna and Geneva, notably by organizing cultural and musical events and in particular a ball according to the Viennese tradition. I am all the more pleased with this initiative as I am a native of Vienna and now live in Geneva.

The first Vienna ball in Geneva took place on 6th June 2019 in the unique décor of the Ritz-Carlton, Hotel de la Paix, thus preparing the ground for the next Vienna ball which will take place on 13 November 2020 at the Musée Ariana, closing a series of events commemorating the centenary of the League of Nations (LoN). This event will be held not far from where the president of the XVIII League of nNations assembly, his highness the Aga Khan, invited his guests to an evening of dancing on 25th September 1937. This ball shall also the importance of an organization dedicated to maintaining peace.

The LoN was born out of the will, not to re-live the horrors of the First World War and to preserve peace through collective negotiations and was at the origin of one of the great advances of humanity. It was the first body to deal with international affairs institutionally. Thus, modern multilateralism has become one of the principles of international relations that the UN and its agencies subsequently adopted.

The commonalities between international multilateralism and the universal language of music are agreement on a common score, a harmonious rhythm and a multitude of actors. A Viennese ball will link these two important UN capitals through the Geneva heritage and the Viennese tradition in a spirit of openness and friendship.

It is therefore with great pleasure that we can welcome this initiative.

 

Ambassador Marie-Thérèse Pictet-Althann

President “Les Amis de la Musique de Bal Viennois”

Mot de la Présidente

Les Amis de la Musique du Bal Viennois s’engagent à promouvoir les échanges culturels entre les villes de Vienne et Genève, notamment en organisant des événements culturels et musicaux et en particulier un bal selon la tradition viennoise. Je me réjouis d’autant plus de cette initiative étant moi-même originaire de Vienne et genevoise d’adoption.

 

Ce premier bal viennois de Genève se déroulera le 6 juin 2019 au sein du Ritz-Carlton, Hôtel de la Paix et le suivant en Novembre 2020 au sein du décor unique de la Salle des Pas perdus du Palais des Nations qui s’insèrent dans une série d’événements commémorant les 100 ans de la « Société des Nations ». A l’endroit même où le 25 septembre 1937 le président de la XVIIIe assemblée de la SDN, Son Altesse Aga Khan, conviait ses invités à une soirée dansante, l’ONU accueillera ce bal afin de rappeler l’importance d’une institution dédiée au maintien de la paix.

 

La SDN, qui naquit de la volonté de ne pas revivre les horreurs de la Première Guerre mondiale et de préserver la paix par des négociations collectives, était à l’origine d’un des grands progrès de l’humanité. Elle fut le premier organisme qui traitait les affaires internationales de manière institutionnelle. Ainsi le multilatéralisme moderne est devenu un des principes des relations internationales repris ensuite par l’ONU et ses agences.

 

Les points communs entre le multilatéralisme international et le langage universel de la musique sont l’accord sur une partition commune, un rythme harmonieux et une multitude d’acteurs. Un bal viennois permettra de lier ces deux capitales importantes de l’ONU à travers le patrimoine genevois et la tradition viennoise dans un esprit d’ouverture et d’amitié.

 

C’est donc avec une grande joie que nous pouvons accueillir cette initiative.

 

 

 

 

Madame l’ Ambassadeur Marie-Thérèse Pictet-Althann

 

Présidente

Les Amis de la Musique de Bal Viennois